NMAET I                                          2-3 November 2004 - NPL, Teddington



Rotating moleculePast Conferences:
Nano-Molecular Analysis for Emerging Technologies I

2-3 November 2004 - NPL, Teddington

Conference Programme, Topics and Invited Speakers

Download the final progamme for both days (Adobe Acrobat file PDF)

At this meeting we focused on the frontier issues for SPM Nano-Analysis and SIMS Measurement as well as state-of-the-art capability. The meeting engaged analysts from both industry and academia.

Day 1:  Frontiers in SPM Nano-Analysis

  • Advances in SPM imaging techniques

    Professor Ricardo Garcia, Instituto de Microelectrónica de Madrid, Spain
    Understanding tapping mode AFM: high resolution imaging, material contrast and nanofabrication (abstract) (PDF)

  • Nano-mechanical and Nano-chemical analysis

    Professor Robert Carpick, University of Wisconsin, USA
    Quantitative friction force microscopy for nanoscale analysis of structural, mechanical, and chemical surface properties (abstract) (PDF)

  • Spectroscopic methods using SPM

    Professor Achim Hartschuh, Universität Siegen, Germany
    Near-field spectroscopy of individual single-walled carbon nanotubes (abstract) (PDF)

  • Protein unravelling and Molecular pulling

    Dr Jane Clarke, University of Cambridge, UK
    Mechanical unfolding studies of proteins

Day 2:  Frontiers in SIMS Measurement

  • Molecular structure, orientation and identification of molecules at surfaces

    Professor Dave Castner, University of Washington State, USA
    Determination of protein orientation and conformation with ToF-SIMS (abstract) (PDF)
    Dr Arnaud Delcorte, Universite catholique de Louvain, Belgium
    Insights into organic molecule emission: recent computer simulations and experiments (abstract) (PDF)

  • Measurement requirements and capability development for biological and bio-nanotechnology surfaces

    Professor John Vickerman, University of Manchester, UK
    SIMS analysis of biological and biotechnology surfaces using cluster ion beams (abstract) (PDF)
    Professor Heinrich Arlinghaus, Universität Münster, Germany
    Mass spectrometric characterization of biological surfaces (abstract) (PDF)

  • Rapid and reliable data interpretation, PCA, neural networks and G-SIMS

    Dr Ian Gilmore, National Physical Laboratory, UK
    An introduction to chemometrics (abstract) (PDF)

  • Cluster ion beams: Potential benefits and applications

    Dr Felix Kollmer, ION TOF GmbH, Germany
    Cluster ion beams - potential benefits and applications (abstract) (PDF)

Poster Sessions

Following the oral presentations on the 2nd November, a dedicated poster session and manufacturers' exhibition was held. However, posters were also on display throughout the duration of the meeting, with mini poster sessions on SPM and SIMS taking place during lunchtime buffets on the 2nd and 3rd November respectively.

Evening Plenary Lecture & Dinner

A plenary talk and conference dinner followed the poster session on the evening of the 2nd November. The plenary talk was given by:

Professor George Smith FRS, University of Oxford, UK
Total analysis of nano-volumes

Organising Committees

The Scientific Organising Committee for the meeting was:

Prof Heinrich Arlinghaus, Universität Münster, Germany
Prof Peter Doyle, Unilever,UK
Dr Ian Fletcher, ICI, UK
Prof Ricardo Garcia, Instituto de Microelectronica de Madrid, CSIC, Spain
Dr Birgit Hagenhoff, TASCON GmbH, Germany
Prof Graham Leggett, University of Sheffield, UK
Dr David Richards, King's College London, UK
Dr Dave Sykes, Loughborough Surface Analysis Ltd, UK
Prof John Vickerman, UMIST, UK
Dr Phil Williams, University of Nottingham, UK

The Local Organising Committee was:

Charles Clifford, Peter Cumpson, Ian Gilmore, Felicia Green and Martin Seah

Manufacturer Exhibition

  • OMICRON NanoTechnology Ltd
  • Physical Electronics GmbH
  • Ion-TOF GmbH
  • Lambda Photometrics
  • Oxford Nanoscience Ltd
  • Kore Technology Ltd
  • Nanograph Systems
  • Indigo Scientific Ltd
  • Scanwel Ltd
  • Lot Oriel Ltd
  • Ionoptika Ltd
  • Megatech Ltd
  • Atomic Force F&E GmbH
  • Veeco
  • Thermo Electron Corporation